The Brownfield Chamber of Commerce has announced their newest board members, filling 4 vacancies from outgoing members.

The newly appointed members are Charlyce Arnold of Arnold Community Educational Services, Starla Sessums of BRMC Home Care, Nick Rogers of Christian Life Church and BIDCorp, and Layne Marlow of the South Plains Underground Water Conservation District.

Returning board members are Justin Hesse (President), Rita Todd (Vice-President), Buzz Timmons (Secretary), Brian Brisendine, Pam Brock, Kim Franke, Johnny Garcia, Bobby Vaughan, and Lorena Valencia (Executive Director).

In September, the Chamber reviewed openings on the board and sent out ballots via mail to all Chamber of Commerce members. Members then nominated individuals they felt were well qualified to serve on the Chamber board and returned their ballots within the allotted two-week time frame.

At their October meeting, board members reviewed the nominations and voted on which nominees to appoint. Members are appointed for three year terms and are allowed to serve two consecutive terms.

According to Chamber Director Lorena Valencia, the only requirement for a board member is a willingness to serve. When electing officers, they select individuals that are involved in the community and want to be leaders.

Board members help plan and serve at Chamber of Commerce events, as well as make decisions on Chamber businesses.

Outgoing board members were Ellen Collins, Brian Paiva, Shane Faught, and Trey Didway.

The Chamber of Commerce board meets the second Wednesday of every month at noon at the Chamber.

If you are interested in getting involved with the Chamber of Commerce or becoming a member, contact Lorena Valencia at (806) 637-2564 or go by their office at 221 Lubbock Road. The Chamber would love to help you get the word out about your business and get involved in the community.