HONOR SOCIETY – South Plains College recently hosted its spring 2018 Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony. The event was held in the Sundown Room on the Levelland campus. Shown are, from left, Josue Esparza, Leslie Prieto and Uriel Villegas, right, all of Denver City; and Gene McWhirter of Plains, second from right. (SPC Photo/Wes Underwood)

LEVELLAND – South Plains College’s Kappa Mu Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society recently inducted more than 100 students into the organization. The induction ceremony featured 70 participants and was recently hosted in the Sundown Room.

Julie Gerstenberger, director of Development and Alumni Relations, presented the keynote address.

The new PTK inductees are:

Hockley County inductees are Allyssa Almager, Marissa Anthony, Tailar Anthony, Kalan Copeland, Derek Damron, Layce Donnell, Kayla Franco, Tiston Montgomery, Adrian Ochoa, BaLeigh Pugh, Danielle Rodriguez, Sheyanne Rodriguez, Sarah Shillig, Vanessa Solano, Monica Solis, Alyssa Tienda, Amanda Torrez and Kara Yarbrough, all of Levelland.

Also from Hockley County are inductees Makayla Baeza of Sundown and Dominique Gonzales of Whiteface.

The Gaines County inductees are Paulina Carrillo and Garbiela Valles, both of Seagraves.

The Lamb County inductee is Bailey Beauchamp of Sudan.

The Garza County inductees are Diego Martinez and Alondra Vasquez, both of Post.

The Crosby County inductee is Jessica Jones of Crosbyton.

The Yoakum County inductees are Leslie Prieto and Uriel Villegas, both of Denver City; and Gene McWhirter of Plains.

The Hale County inductees are April Nelson of Abernathy; Brian McGann of Hale Center; and Georgina Rodriguez and Destiny Pitts, both of Plainview.

City of Lubbock inductees are Brandi Barrera, John McKenon Bundy, Valorie Chavez, Jaree Cotton, Laurel Guzman, Tiffany Hendrix, Kevin Hinds, Schuyler Holland, Olivia Kopper, Sheena Maughan, Olutosin Oladejo, Cassie Robinson, Candice Scott, Chandler Swan and Kaitlyn Willis.

Students from Lubbock County include Meredith Satterwhite and Jayden Willer, both of Shallowater; Savina Rodriguez Moreno of Slaton; and Addison Fassauer and Madison Wilkinson, both of Wolfforth.

Students from other Texas cities are Vanessa Guthrie of Canadian; Joe Duran and Daniel Munoz, both of Estelline; Lazarath Lopez of Fort Hood; Misty Bartley of Graham; Sara Beadle of Jayton; Logan Taylor of Paducah; Ashleigh Jones of Roaring Springs; Ricki Perez of Weslaco; and Ethan Wynn, Leakey.

Students from other states include Jackson Ratliff of Casa Grande, Ariz.; Josue Esparza Mendoza of Las Vegas, Nev.; Alyssa Mojica of Los Alamos, N.M.; Valeria Hernandez of Lovington, N.M.; Darion Lewis-McKenzie of Pine Bluff, Ark.; and Bailey O’Connor of Tatum, N.M.

Two students from outside the country are inductees Jessie Reese of Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico and Olutosin Oladejo of Nigeria.

To be eligible for induction, students must attend an institution offering an associate degree program, complete at least 15 hours of coursework, be a full-time student and maintain a grade point average of 3.25 or above. The benefits of membership include access to letters of recommendation, enrollment in a senior college database and a membership pin.