In yet another low turnout Yoakum County voters gave the nod to Darla Welch and Summer Lovelace in their respective races on March 6 during the 2018 Primary Election.

Welch will be the new County Treasurer replacing Barbara Wright who is retiring at the end of her current term on December 31. Lovelace will be the new County Clerk replacing Debbie Rushing who is also retiring at the end of her current term.

Welch garnered 829 total votes easily defeating Yvonne Droogsma who received 374 votes. Lovelace defeated two opponents in earning her new position with a total vote of 690. Rosa Gutierrez finished second with 362 votes and Brandi Lopez finished in third with 165 votes.

Welch is the current Human Resource Director and Lovelace is her assistant as well as the county Landfill clerk.

Those two positions were the only local contested races. Criminal District Attorney Bill Helwig, County Judge Jim Barron, Justice of the Peace #1 Marc Traweek, Justice of the Peace #2 Troy Scott, Precinct #2 Commissioner Ray Marion, and Precinct #4 Tim Addison were all unopposed and will also be unopposed in the November General Election.

On the state level in Yoakum County Ted Cruz received 1009 votes for the United States Senate compared to 20 for Geraldine Sam, 41 for Bruce Jacobson, and 22 for Stefano de Stefano; in the Governor’s race Greg Abbott received 929 votes, Secede Kilgore had 56, and Barbara Krueger received 101; for Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick received 590 and Scott Milder had 477; in the Land Commissioner race George P. Bush received 623, Jerry Patterson had 224, Davey Edwards received 88 votes, and Rick Range received 45 votes; for Agriculture Commissioners Trey Blocker had 174 votes, Jim Hogan received 239 votes and Sid Miller had 560 votes; for Railroad Commissioners Christi Craddick had 597 votes and Weston Martinez received 361 votes; State Senator District 31 Mike Carson received 333 votes, Victor Leal had 153 votes, and Kel Seliger had 578 votes; and for State Representative District 88 Richard Beyea had 133 votes, Jason Huddleston received 374 votes, and Ken King finished with 570 votes.

There are 4,209 registered voters in Yoakum County and approximately 25% voted in the Primary election. The General Election for those contested races will be held on November 6, 2018.