In the first called and regular scheduled Terry County Commissioners Court meeting of 2018, there was plenty on the agenda. As the court went through all the preliminaries, they made their way to items of deliberation and actions. Items four, five and six were concerning paying the bills, previous minutes and monthly reports from each county office.

The seventh item of business was to consider action on setting the salaries of elected officials and employees of Terry County. The salaries were not changed from 2017, so elected officials salaries are as followed, the County Judge salary is $96,020.34 annually, which $25,199.98 of the judges salary is paid by the State of Texas. The District Clerk, County Clerk, Tax-Assesor-Collector, County Treasurer, and the Justice of Peace all earn $51,366.90 annually. The Terry County Sheriff receives annually $71,100.90.  To round out the elected officials salaries are the four commissioners. Each commissioners earn $41,684.50 annually.

The next item of business was the 2018 First of the Year Orders. There were thirty-one actual orders given by the Commissioners Court. The orders of importance were that the county will allow $250,000.00 for year 2018 for the support of the City of Brownfield Fire Dept. operating expenses. Both the Cities of Meadow and Wellman will recieve $30,000.00 for their fire departments. Also it was ordered by the commissioners court that the county allow $300,000.00 for the year 2018 for support of the City of Brownfield Park Maintenance.

The last item of busioness was to approve elections workes and extend early voting hours. This item was approved and early voting will begin on Tuesday February 20th, 2018 through Friday February 23rd, 2018 from 8:30am to 5:00pm. On Saturday February 24th, 2018 early voting will be from 8:00am to 12:00pm. Early voting will resume on Monday February 26th, 2018 to Thursday March 1st, 2018 from 8:30am t0 5:00pm, and Friday March 2nd, 2018 will be the last day for early voting and will be from 8:30am to 7:00pm. March 6th, 2018 will be primary election day from 7:00am to 7:00pm.  The Commissioners Court adjourned.