A Regular Board Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Denver City Independent School District was held Monday, April 17, 2017, beginning at 6:15 PM in the Board Room of the Denver City Independent School District.

Members present included Brad Woosley, Robbie Underhill, Brian Sutton, Russell Dial, Connie Lozano, and Joey Rodgers. Board member Johnette Mansur was not in attendance.

Board President Brad Woosley called the meeting to order at 6:15 PM and led the Pledge to the United States Flag and the Texas Flag. Joey Rodgers led the invocation.

During Public Discussion, Danny Doss, representative of First Financial, gave a brief presentation on the employer match retirement plan. The plan was implemented in January 2008, offers a 5% employer match, and has a vesting schedule on the employer match portion of the funds.  The current combined balance in both the employee contributions and employer match contributions total $9,995,072.40.

Craig Wallace and Dag Azam reported on the 2013 bond package schedule as of April 17, 2017, reporting the following: New Ag Farm was 77% complete. Pictures of the lamb barns, pig barns, and wash bay area were shown. They went on to say the New High School and Performing Art Center was 7% complete. Pictures of steel work and concrete work were also shown.

Mr. Wallace also advised that he, along with several other Denver City ISD staff members, met with Seth Witman, Director of Service for PoolPak, on April 6, 2017. The meeting was to work through issues that have been experienced on the new unit that was installed at the indoor swimming pool. Mr. Witman gave an operational training to staff and agreed that PoolPak will provide a 1-year parts and labor warranty on the unit running from April 6, 2017 through April 6, 2018.

Motion was also made to give Superintendent Gary Davis permission to ask the City of Denver City to participate in the Summer Recreation Program in the same capacity as previously done, with the City funding the program in the amount of $25,000.00. The District will provide the facilities and personnel. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was then made to adopt the District of Innovation Plan as presented by the administration, implementing the plan during the 2017-2018 school year through the end of the 2021-2022 school year. The motion carried unanimously.

Another motion was made to approve the 2017-2018 Calendar as presented by the administration. The motion carried unanimously.

The calendar calls for 89 teacher days in the first semester and 80.5 student days. In the second semester there will be 93 teacher days and 88.5 student days. New teachers will report on August 8 while the remainder of the staff will report on August 14 for staff development. The first day of school will be on August 21.

Holidays will include Christmas break from December 22 through January 8 and Spring break will be during the week of March 12-16. Next year will also call for a four day weekend for Easter, April 20-23. Graduation will be on May 25.

Motion was made to renew professional contracts as presented on all campuses. The motion carried unanimously.

Probationary contracts included:  Laci Aukerman, Alexis Bell, Lidia Bustos, Rodney Curtis, Danci Dennis, Jennifer Galvan, Hanna Garcia, Jack Garcia, Clete Knippa, Dora Martinez, Hortencia Montana, Joe Moore, Brendon Muller, Samantha Muller, Cara Mumma, Melissa Owings, and Peri Kaye Padgett.

A motion was then made to provide Letters of Reasonable Assurance for all paraprofessional staff as presented by the Administration, provided sufficient funding is available. The motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made to approve the following new hires: Cherie Bales – Gravitt JH, Yazmin Lozano – Dodson Primary, and Lisa Warren – Denver City HS. They also approved the following resignations and retirements – Mitzi Welch – Gravitt JH, Karen Bownds – Kelley Elem., Lisa Williams – Gravitt JH, and the following FCSSA Personnel – Michelle Frerich, Serena Love, Pam Paris, Brandi Parker, Rosalinda Perez, Bailey Long, Mercedes Antuna, Jessica Bierbaum, Shala Powell, Haley Comer, Khrystin Jolly, Jennie Cummings, Melissa Escobar, Payton Lowe, Mindy Rodriguez, Sophia Ellis, Vicky Wilkins, Rachel Escobar, Jason Wells, B.J. Green, Lisa Stuart, Rachel Perez, and Monica McCormick, and the termination of Mary Rosales – FCSSA.  The motion carried unanimously.

The next board meeting will be held on May 15 at 6:15. There being no further business, Brad Woosley adjourned the meeting at 7:06 PM.